

Programme

10 July 2017

Venue: Conference Room II, India International Centre (IIC)

40 Max Mueller Marg, New Delhi

0830-0900 hrs REGISTRATION AND REFRESHMENTS

0900-1000 Inaugural Session

Chair N.K. Singh

Former Member of Planning Commission and Former

Member of Parliament

Opening Remarks Alakh N. Sharma

Director, Institute for Human Development (IHD)

Sher Verick

Deputy Director, DWT-South Asia and Country Office-India

International Labour Organisation

Inaugural Address Bibek Debroy

Member, NITI Aayog, Government of India

1000-1130 Technical Session I: The Bardhan Proposal

Chair T.N. Ninan

Chairman, Business Standard

Keynote Address Pranab Bardhan

Professor of Graduate School, University of California

Berkeley

Panelists Abhijit Banerjee (by Skype)

Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), USA

Abhijit Sen

Former Member, Planning Commission

Ajit Ghose

Visiting Professor, Institute for Human Development

1130-1145 TEA

1145-1315 Technical Session II: The Joshi Proposal

Chair Nitin Desai

Former Under-Secretary General, United Nations and Former Chief Economic Advisor, Government of India

Keynote Address Vijay Joshi,

Professor, University of Oxford

Panelists Amarjeet Sinha*

Secretary

Ministry of Rural Development, Government of India

Dilip Mookherjee

Professor, University of Boston

Swaminathan AiyerAuthor and Columnist

1315-1400 LUNCH

1400-1530 Technical Session III: The Economic Survey Proposal

Chair Shankar Acharya

Former Chief Economic Adviser

Government of India

Keynote Address Arvind Subramanian#

Chief Economic Adviser, Government of India

Panelists Ashwani Saith

Professor Emeritus, Institute of Social Studies, The Hague

Rohini Somnathan

Professor, Delhi School of Economics

Shekhar Shah

Director General, National Council of Applied Economic

Research (NCAER), New Delhi

1530-1550 TEA

1550-1720 Technical Session IV: Perspectives from the Field

Chair R. Radhakrishna

Chairman, Centre for Economic and Social Studies

Hyderabad

Keynote Address Renana Jhabvala

Chairperson, SEWA Bharat, Ahmedabad

Panelists: Jeemol Unni

Professor of Economics, Ahmedabad University

and former Director, Institute for Rural Management Anand

(IRMA)

S.M. Vijayanand

Former Secretary, Panchayati Raj, Govt. of India and

Former Chief Secretary, Govt. of Kerala

P.K. Joshi

Director for South Asia, International Food Policy Research

Institute (IFPRI), New Delhi

1720-1740 TEA

1740-1915 Concluding Session and Way Forward

Chair: Jay Panda

Member of Parliament

Overview of deliberations Sudipto Mundle

Emeritus Professor, National Institute of Public Finance and

Policy, New Delhi

Panelists: Rajat M. Nag

Distinguished Fellow, National Council of

Applied Economic Research and

Former Managing Director General, Asian

Development Bank, Manila

Rathin Roy

Director, National Institute of Public Finance and Policy

Anil Padmanabhan*

Executive Editor, The Mint

Mahendra Dev

Director, Indira Gandhi Institute of Development Research

Mumbai

Closing Remarks S.R. Hashim

Chairman, IHD; Former Member & Member-Secretary

Planning Commission

1915 Cocktails and Dinner

Venue: Terrace Pergola

^{*} Did not attend due to preoccupation

[#] Presentation made through an aide